$1000 First Prize
   $500 Second Prize
     Honorable Mentions


Named in honor of the first Irish poet to win a Nobel Prize in Literature, the Yeats Poetry prize has been awarded to poets of all ages and backgrounds since 1994 by the WB Yeats Society of NY. The winning entries of past years along with the judges' reports are available here. Information about the judge, Spencer Reese, can be accessed here


Deadline: February 1, 2021

Unpublished poems in English up to 60 lines on any subject and style. Each poem will be judged separately and read anonymously.

Poems can be submitted electronically here or via postal carrier addressed to The Yeats Society of New York, National Arts Club, 15 Gramercy Park South, New York, NY 10003. Both forms of submission will be treated equally except that entries sent via postal carrier must arrive by February 1; we advise mailing  postal submissions by January 15 or earlier if submitting internationally.

If submitting by mail, submit poems typed on an 8½ x 11-inch sheet without author’s name; attach 3×5-inch card(s) with name, address, telephone, e-mail. Include a check with the entry fee made out to the Yeats Society of New York. $15 for the first poem and $12 each additional poem. There are no limits on the number of poems that can be submitted. Include SASE to receive a copy of the report by mail. Announcements will be made on the Society's website in mid-March.

Additionally, winners and honorable mentions receive 2-year Yeats Society membership and are honored at a ceremony in New York. Authors retain rights, but permit the Society to publish or broadcast winning entries. Awards will be presented at an event in April at the Union Square Barnes & Noble.

WB Yeats Society of NY